WhatsApp users can soon hide their phone number in groups

WhatsApp is engaged on a pack of options that can add layers of safety to messaging. The messaging app was engaged on a brand new characteristic that might enable customers to cover their telephone quantity from particular teams. Typically they add us to WhatsApp teams which might be identified to us. WhatsApp is now testing the characteristic that might enable customers to cover their numbers from a gaggle of strangers.

The characteristic was first supported by Wabetainfo, an internet site that tracks all actions associated to the messaging app. WhatsApp is scheduled to launch a beta model 2.22.17.23, and solely beta testers may have entry to the characteristic. WhatsApp is at present testing the characteristic solely on Android. iOS beta testers could get the characteristic sooner or later. The characteristic may also be restricted to WhatsApp communities. The messaging app had beforehand mentioned hiding neighborhood members’ telephone numbers with Verge.

WhatsApp CEO Will Cathcart knowledgeable the publication that when an individual is added to a neighborhood, their telephone quantity will likely be hidden, aside from directors and people who find themselves inside a selected subgroup. Wabetainfo has now shared the screenshot of how the characteristic will seem as soon as it’s out there to beta testers. As well as, there’s an possibility referred to as “Share telephone quantity”, which might enable customers to determine in the event that they wish to share their numbers with group members or not. The characteristic will solely be restricted to WhatsApp’s Communities, which will likely be quickly rolled out within the coming days.

“We’re lastly in a position to present you the setting. Actually, as you’ll be able to see on this screenshot, the brand new privateness setting is in regards to the potential to share the telephone quantity with a sure sub-group of a neighborhood! This feature is disabled by default, so it means your telephone quantity will instantly be hidden to all members if you be a part of a neighborhood, however you’re free to share it with a sure sub-group of a neighborhood if you’d like,” the report stated.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.